Latest News  facebook logo


"Current Directions in Book History: Borders without Boundaries"
2014 Annual Meeting of the Bibliographical Society of Canada
26-27 May 2014
Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences
Brock University

The program may be found here.

Tremaine Medal and Watters-Morley Prize Awarded

The members of the Awards Committee are very pleased to announce Pierre Hébert as the recipient of the 2014 Tremaine Medal and Watters-Morley Prize. The prize will be awarded at the Society's 69th Annual General Meeting.

Pierre Hébert, professor in the Faculté des lettres et sciences humaines at the Université de Sherbrooke, has prodigiously advanced book historical research in Canada. He is a pioneering researcher exploring questions relating to censorship in Quebec, and an important contributor to the documentation of Quebec's book and other cultural producers. He has supported the broader growth of Canadian book historical research through leadership of major research projects and networks, as well as through an enormous amount of direct research supervision. A member of the Royal Society of Canada, among his many contributions to the community are his current presidency of the Association québécoise pour l'étude de l'imprimé (AQÉI), and co-directorship of the Groupe de recherches et d'études sur le livre au Québec (GRÉLQ), Université de Sherbrooke.

We are extremely pleased to extend to Professor Hébert our recognition of his impressive output and career in service of advancing Canadian bibliography and book historical inquiry.


Emerging Scholar Prize Awarded

The Bibliographical Society of Canada (BSC) is pleased to announce that Rachel Bryant, a PhD candidate in the Department of English at the University of New Brunswick, has been selected as the recipient of the Emerging Scholar Prize. Her paper, "Towards the (In)digitization of the Archive: Preserving, Sharing, and Protecting Indigenous Knowledge in New Brunswick," will be presented at the BSC's annual conference in May 2014 and will explore how the province of New Brunswick could both benefit and learn from controversial efforts to digitize Indigenous archival materials in the United States, particularly in New England. A revised, article-length version of the paper will be published in the Papers of the Bibliographical Society of Canada, subject to peer review. The prize also includes a grant of $500.

Ms. Bryant's timely and original paper intersects directly with her dissertation, which explores the ways in which Native peoples have re-inscribed themselves textually across the northeastern Canadian-American border over the past three hundred years through the resurrection of the Wampum belt and the use of cartographic space. She has been praised as an exceptional scholar with a remarkable research record and a strong commitment to the reconfiguration of bibliographical studies to address the needs of Indigenous writers and communities in North America. Her supervisors at the University of New Brunswick are Professors Jennifer Andrews and Elizabeth Mancke.

The Emerging Scholar Prize was established by the BSC in 2012 to support a scholar at the beginning of her or his career who is undertaking research in bibliography, book history, or print culture broadly defined, including the study of the creation, production, publication, distribution, and uses of manuscripts, printed books, or electronic texts.


Amtmann Fellowship

The members of the Fellowships Committee are very pleased to announce that Dr. Scott J. Gwara, Professor of English and Comparative Literature at the University of South Carolina has been awarded the Amtmann Fellowship for 2014. His project, entitled ‘Medieval Books in the Dominion of Canada, ca 1840-1907’ will examine a collection of twenty-two manuscripts held in collections at the University of King's College, Halifax, the University of Toronto, and at McGill University, hoping to reveal ‘the historical, social, and pedagogical motivations for a new, esoteric connoisseurship in the Dominion of Canada.’

Tremaine Fellowship

The members of the Fellowships Committee are very pleased to announce that Dr. Alison Rukavina has been awarded the Tremaine Fellowship for 2014. The fellowship, for her project ‘Sam Steele's Forty Years in Canada: Nation Building and Imperial Mythmaking’, will allow her to travel to the Steele archive at the Bruce Peel Special Collections Library, University of Alberta, to complete her research on the publication history of Steele's memoir Forty Years in Canada (1915).

Joint Statement on Librarian/Archivist of Canada

The Bibliographical Society of Canada / Société bibliographique du Canada has added its endorsement to the Joint Statement on Qualities of a Successful Librarian and Archivist of Canada.

Letter received from the Minister of Canadian Heritage.

President's Letters about Library and Archives Canada

The President of the Bibliographical Society of Canada, Janet Friskney, has sent a letter to all Members of Parliament expressing the Society's concerns about the current situation at Library and Archives Canada. A copy of the letter may be accessed here.

A second letter, dated 18 November 2012, in response to Minister of Canadian Heritage, James Moore's reply to the Society may be accessed here.

A letter to Dr. Daniel Caron, dated 23 February 2013 may be accessed here.

Open Journal System

The Papers/Cahiers of the Society are now available on the Open Journal System, which permits advanced search capabilities. The tables of contents for the most recent issues may be viewed, as well as all past issues in pdf format. To see the new site, click on 'Publications', then 'Journal' in the left sidebar.

Emerging Scholar Prize: Fundraising Drive

The Bibliographical Society of Canada (BSC) is pleased to announce the creation of the Emerging Scholar Prize. The Prize will be given annually starting in 2014 and will recognize and support a scholar at the beginning of her or his career who is undertaking research in bibliography, book history, or print culture.           ....MORE

Emerging Scholar Prize: Donors

The Society wishes to acknowledge the generosity of the following donors:

Sandra Alston
Pat Belier
Fiona Black
Jennifer Connor
C. Gryski
Elizabeth Driver
Nancy Earle
Gail Edwards
Patricia Fleming
Janet Friskney
Alan Galey
Carole Gerson
Nicholas Giguère
J. Godolphin
Greta Golick
Jeannine Green
Edna Hajnal
Balfour Halevy
Robin Healey
Marcel Lajeunesse
Val Lem
Geoffrey Little
Bertrum MacDonald
Eli MacLaren
Ian MacLaren
Anne McGaughey
Don McLeod
Roger Meloche
Jacques Michon
Peter Mitham
Heather Murray
George Parker
Linda Quirk
Carl Spadoni
Apollonia Steele
Joeée Vincent
Tom Vincent
Germaine Warkentin
Mary Williamson
Joan Winearls
Alberta Wood

Canada’s Third National Book Collecting Contest

Poster 2012

Prizes were awarded to the winning entrants of the third National Book Collecting Contest in Vancouver and Waterloo on May 28, 2012.

The first prize went to Samuel Jang, of Victoria, B.C. for his collection Aesop's Fables.

The second prize winner was David Fernández, of Toronto, Ontario for his collection The Imaginary of Books: Homosexualities, Images, and Texts.

The third prize winner was Gideon Foley, of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan for his collection Tasteful Books.


The National Book Collecting Contest - Previous Winners

Poster 2011





The Bulletin

The Bulletin is published in the spring and fall each year, as the newsletter of the Bibliographical Society of Canada and is distributed to members together with the Papers/Cahiers. Each new issue of the Bulletin will now be made available on the website upon publication. Past issues will be digitized as time permits.

Members wishing to continue to receive the Bulletin in paper form should indicate this on their membership renewal form.