Recipients of the Amtmann Fellowship

2017: Sarah de Bogui (Université d’Orléans) for her project “Le manuscrit du « Journal de Murray » : entre témoignage historique et histoire individuelle à Québec sous le Régime militaire (1760-1764),” which  examines a compilation of historical documents known as “Le Journal de Murray” held at the Université de Montréal.

2014: Dr. Scott J. Gwara (University of South Carolina) for his project, ‘Medieval Books in the Dominion of Canada, ca 1840-1907’ which will examine a collection of twenty-two manuscripts held in collections at the University of King’s College, Halifax, the University of Toronto, and at McGill University

2011: Elizabeth Hanson (Indiana University) for her research project ‘Mary J. Black, the Fort William Public Library, and the Early Twentieth Century Canadian Book Trade’

2007: Isabelle Robitaille (Bibliothèque et archives nationales du Québec) for a provenance study of the library of Montreal lawyer and book collector Frederick Griffin (1798-1877)

2004: Frédéric Brisson (Université de Sherbrooke)for a study of the impact of the Hachette bookstore on the book trade in Québec

1995: Peter Mitham (Independent Scholar) for the first comprehensive annotated descriptive bibliography of Robert Service

1992: Bertram MacDonald (Dalhousie University) for a study of the Nova Scotia pioneer bookseller and publisher James Dawson of Pictou