2017 Tremaine Medal and Watters-Morley Prize Awarded

The members of the Awards Committee are very pleased to announce that Anne Dondertman will be the recipient of the Marie Tremaine Medal and Watters-Morley Prize for 2017. The Medal will be awarded at the Society’s 72nd Annual General Meeting.

Anne Dondertman is a rare book librarian, bibliographer, and life-long advocate for the development of special collections. Her commitment to special collections for research in both the library and academic setting established her as one of Canada’s leaders in bibliography, book history, and print culture. Anne Dondertman dedicated her entire professional life to rare books and special collections, eventually rising to what many consider the top position in the profession within Canada: Director of the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library. Her stewardship of the Fisher Library has left an enduring legacy at the library and beyond. Outside of the Fisher, Anne has contributed to Canadian bibliographical research in other crucial areas. She has served many different roles within the Bibliographical Society of Canada, including Secretary (1991-98), President (2008-11) and Past President (2011-14), along with contributing articles and reviews to Papers/Cahiers. Up until her recent retirement in the summer of 2016, she remained steadfastly dedicated to the library, including the mentoring and development of numerous special collection librarians that will shape the future of special collections librarianship in Canada. In essence, there has been no better advocate for special collections libraries and their role in the study of book history and bibliography than Anne Dondertman.

We are delighted to offer this recognition of Anne Dondertman’s impressive contributions to advancing Canadian bibliographical scholarship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.